My Commitment as an Eye Doctor in Africa

Outreaches in one of the poorest countries in the world: The eye doctor Dominique Mustur treats people in Togo who suffer from an eye disease.

Daily program: 9 eye surgeries

Men and women sit on two rows of benches in a small hospital in Togo, Africa. "One looks into happy, grim, interested, confused faces", says the diary of the Swiss foundation "ToGo opening eyes". Each of the patients is here with their relatives, some of them are blind. A team of ophthalmologists, anaesthetists and surgical nurses from Switzerland has a lot to do on this Monday in September. Also present is the Zurich ophthalmologist Dominique Mustur, who has a practice in Wollishofen. A total of nine cataract surgeries, i.e. treatments for cataracts, are scheduled for this day. They are all successful.

Market in Vogan (Togo)

The small Togolese town of Vogan is about 60 kilometres from the capital Lomé. This is where Dominique Mustur travelled to operate. (Photo: ToGo opening eyes foundation)

About Togo

Togo is a small state in West Africa with about 8 million inhabitants. French is officially spoken, the languages Ewe and Kabiyé are national languages. The country with an area of 56785 square kilometres is one of the poorest states in the world. Togo borders on Ghana, Burkina Faso and Benin.

Next assignment in Togo?

The next mission in Togo by ophthalmologist Dominique Mustur is planned for autumn 2020.

Donations:

ToGo opening eyes Foundation. IBAN: CH49 00232 232109 956 42B.

www.stiftung-togo.ch

Swiss foundation "ToGo opening eyes"

The foundation "ToGo opening eyes" is dedicated to the fight against cataracts. This disease causes the lens of the eye to become cloudy. Once the disease has progressed, the affected people see as if through a frosted glass. If cataracts are not treated, you can go blind. Togo is considered one of the poorest countries in the world and there is a lack of ophthalmologists. Accordingly, there is a lot of undersupply. This is where the foundation steps in: it wants to help with free eye treatments.

The infrastructure in the African country of Togo is poorly developed - as are the roads.

Patients come from far away

For the second time Dominique Mustur is operating in Vogan, which is about an hour and a half drive from the capital Lomé. "Vogan is small, the town has only just over 1000 inhabitants," says the 44-year-old. The road is full of potholes and the infrastructure is poorly developed. "After all, the hospital has a well-equipped operating room, but unfortunately no equipment for eye operations," says Mustur. This is brought in containers from Switzerland. The assignments last two weeks each.

Word of the offer has gotten around: Some people travel up to 600 kilometres to be treated. An operation lasts from 15 minutes to one hour. The team only treats people with very advanced cataracts. "In almost all cases, we only operate on one eye in patients who are ill - so that we can help as many as possible," explains the eye surgeon, who has travelled Africa many times before. In Cape Town she worked for eight months in the eye clinic of the university there. Follow-up treatment is provided by Togolese hospital staff trained by the Foundation.
"You can't change the world, but you can help people," says Mustur self-critically. She is happy about every successful operation. The missions in Togo would each time put the everyday problems of the population in Switzerland and throughout Western Europe into perspective.

Text: Pascal return (@localinfo.ch), 19 December 2019

Eye surgery in Togo

Dominique Mustur operates in a small hospital in Vogan.

After the Eye Operation

Dominique Mustur and the patient at the hospital in Vogan.

Ophthalmologist Dominique Mustur in her Practice in Zurich Wollishofen (Photo: PW)

Contact

Eye Center Wollishofen
Dr. med. Dominique Mustur
Seestrasse 353 | 1st floor
CH-8038 Zurich

T +41 44 244 10 44
F +41 44 244 10 43


info@augencenterwollishofen.ch
Dr.Mustur@hin.ch

Welcome

08:00 - 18:00 from Monday to Friday

Evening and Saturday consulting hours by individual arrangement

Consultation for kids

Every Wednesday or Thursday there is vision school and children's consultation hours.

Google Rating
4.9
Based on 37 reviews

Mein Engagement als Aufgenärztin in Afrika

Einsätze in einem der ärmsten Länder der Welt: Die Augenärztin Dominique Mustur behandelt Menschen im Togo, die an einer Augenkrankheit leiden.

Tagesprogramm: 9 Augen-Operationen

Auf zwei Bankreihen sitzen Männer und Frauen im kleinen Spital im afrikanischen Togo. «Man blickt in erfreute, grimmige, interessierte, verwirrte Gesichter», heisst es im Tagebuch der Schweizer Stiftung «ToGo opening eyes». Jeder der Patienten ist mit seinen Angehörigen hier, manche von ihnen sind blind. Ein Team von Augenärzten, Anästhesisten und Operationsschwestern aus der Schweiz hat an diesem Montag im September viel vor. Dabei ist auch die Zürcher Augenärztin Dominique Mustur, die eine Praxis in Wollishofen hat. Insgesamt neun Katarakt-Operationen, also Behandlungen von grauem Star, stehen an diesem Tag an. Sie verlaufen alle erfolgreich.

Markt in Vogan (Togo)

Die togolesische Kleinstadt Vogan ist etwa 60 Kilometer von der Hauptstadt Lomé entfernt. Hierhin reiste Dominique Mustur, um zu operieren. (Foto: Stiftung ToGo opening eyes)

Über den Togo

Der Togo ist ein Kleinstaat in Westafrika mit rund 8 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern. Offiziell wird Französisch gesprochen, die Sprachen Ewe und Kabiyé sind Nationalsprachen. Das Land mit einer Fläche von 56785 Quadratkilometern gehört zu den ärmsten Staaten der Welt. Der Togo grenzt an Ghana, Burkina Faso und Benin.

Nächster Einsatz in Toto?

Der nächste Einsatz in Toto von Augenärztin Dominique Mustur ist im Herbst 2020 geplant.

Spenden:

Stiftung «ToGo opening eyes». IBAN: CH49 00232 23210 99 56 4B.

www.stiftung-togo.ch

Schweizer Stiftung «ToGo opening eyes»

Die Stiftung «ToGo opening eyes» hat sich dem Kampf gegen den grauen Star verschrieben. Bei dieser Krankheit trübt sich die Augenlinse. Ist die Krankheit fortgeschritten, sehen die Betroffenen wie durch ein Milchglas. Wird der graue Star nicht behandelt, kann man daran erblinden. Der Togo gilt als eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt, es fehlen Augenärzte. Dementsprechend ist die Unterversorgung gross. Hier springt die Stiftung ein: Sie will mit kostenlosen Augenbehandlungen helfen.

Die Infrastruktur ist im afrikanischen Land Togo schlecht ausgebaut – so auch die Strassen.

Patienten kommen von weit her

Schon zum zweiten Mal operiert Dominique Mustur in Vogan, das etwa eineinhalb Stunden mit dem Auto von der Hauptstadt Lomé entfernt liegt. «Vogan ist klein, der Ort hat nur etwas über 1000 Einwohner», erzählt die 44-Jährige. Die Strasse sei voller Schlaglöcher, die Infrastruktur schlecht ausgebaut. «Immerhin verfügt das Spital über einen gut ausgerüsteten Operationssaal, aber leider keine Ausrüstung für Augenoperationen», sagt Mustur. Diese wird in Containern aus der Schweiz mitgebracht. Die Einsätze dauern jeweils zwei Wochen.

Das Angebot hat sich herumgesprochen: Manche Menschen reisen bis zu 600 Kilometer, um sich behandeln zu lassen. Eine Operation dauert von 15 Minuten bis zu einer Stunde. Das Team behandelt nur Menschen, bei denen der graue Star sehr weit fortgeschritten ist. «In fast allen Fällen operieren wir bei Erkrankten nur ein Auge – damit wir so vielen wie möglich helfen können», erklärt die Augenchirurgin, die Afrika schon oft bereist hat. In Kapstadt arbeitete sie acht Monate lang in der Augenklinik der dortigen Universität. Die Nachbehandlungen übernimmt togolesisches Spitalpersonal, das durch die Stiftung ausgebildet wurde.
«Man kann nicht die Welt verändern, aber Menschen helfen», sagt Mustur selbstkritisch. Sie freue sich über jede erfolgreiche Operation. Die Einsätze im Togo würden die Alltagsprobleme der Bevölkerung in der Schweiz und in ganz Westeuropa jedes Mal wieder relativieren.

Text: Pascal Wiederkehr (@lokalinfo.ch), 19. Dezember 2019

Augenoperation in Togo

Dominique Mustur operiert im kleinen Spital in Vogan.

Nach der Augenoperation

Dominique Mustur und Patientin im Spital in Vogan.

Augenärztin Dominique Mustur in ihrer Praxis in Zürich Wollishofen (Foto: PW)

Kontakt

Augencenter Wollishofen
Dr. med. Dominique Mustur
Seestrasse 353 | 1. Stock
CH-8038 Zürich

+41 44 244 10 44
F +41 44 244 10 43
info@augencenterwollishofen.ch

Willkommen

08:00 – 18:00 Uhr von Montag bis Freitag

Abend- und Samstagsprechstunden nach individueller Vereinbarung

Kinder-Sprechstunde

Jeweils am Mittwoch oder Donnerstag ist Sehschule und Kindersprechstunden.

Google Bewertung
4.9
Basierend auf 26 Rezensionen